Deng Ming-Dao

Deng Ming-Dao is the author of eight books, including 365 Tao, Everyday Tao, Scholar Warrior, and Chronicles of Tao.


Overview Virtue as an ideogram Dé, 德, means “virtue; goodness; morality; ethics; kindness.” The ideogram pairs the glyph for walk, 彳, with the sign for virtue, 悳 (shows an eye judging straightness and the glyph for heart). You can read this ideogram counterclockwise: walk with a heart that sees straight. Dàodé:Dào births life, virtue fosters […]

Virtue Read More »

The Tao Heritage Series: Introduction

The Tao Heritage Series provides full training in Taoist arts. The Series will feature philosophy, foundational movements, qigong, standing meditation, sitting meditation, and the internal martial arts of Xingyiquan, Baguazhang, and Taijiquan. Spring and autumn courses will be held live in Santa Cruz, California. Summer and winter courses will be held online via Zoom. The

The Tao Heritage Series: Introduction Read More »


I’ve first moved to my present house thirty-five years ago. The first person I met was named Angel, a man from Mexico and the patriarch of four generations who lived with him. He died less than a month ago at the age of 103. Angel’s grandson, M devoted years to giving care. He cooked for

Angel Read More »

Shopping Cart